If you want a golden rule that will fit everything, this is it: Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.William Morris.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Yarn Along

It has been a few weeks since I have wrote about what I am reading and/or listening to. 
I am still reading Joan Dye Gussow book "Growing Older".
I can read at night but then I'll fall asleep reading so I'm getting through it very slowly.

I just started listening to 




Book Description From Amazon
Release date: April 3, 2012
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character,  Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

I can listen to a book so much faster than I can read one lately.
I listen while driving, sewing and sometime while gardening. And seeing how that can be a good portion of my day, you can see why I go through a book quicker by listening.

Now for what is it I'm knitting these days. I am still working on the socks I was last month but I'm getting closer to a finish.


I get tired of knitting on small needles so I started on a new project.
I had seen a bag that had a knitted bottom 



So I'm going to try to make something similar. This is my start to the base of my bag. I hoping this will go quickly. Added plus is I'm using up some of my stash.





Linking up to http://www.gsheller.com/






No comments:

Post a Comment

Welcome friends to share a thought, I enjoy reading them and will try my best to reply back by email most of the time. But if you do not hear back it's because you are a no-reply blogger.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...